Stroke.

Hello.  Look, this is going to be a Tough One, but I do owe it to my Friends out there in the Blogosphere to explain my absence.  I mentioned in the past about Family Health Issues.  Well, it’s gotten worse.  You see, a couple of weeks ago, my Father had a Stroke.  Three days after he got out of the Hospital for Pneumonia. At age 79.  The good thing is that he was at home recuperating, and my Mom is a Retired Nurse.  Matter of fact, I had just got off the phone with him a couple of hours earlier.  The really good news is the Paramedics showed up within a couple of minutes after they got the call, and they knew what to do.

But after being sent up to Akron General, and a few days there, the Prognosis isn’t too good.  As far as the Stroke goes, he’s semi-lucid, no major Paralysis or loss of Motor Function, but, basically, his Mind is Scrambled, and for all intents and purposes, he’s now Senile.  They got him in a Rehab Center close to his home, but from this point on, even if they send him home, he’s on Borrowed Time.

You see, he also has Congestive Heart Failure, a Badly Twisted Hernia, a Prostate twice the size of normal, and a Bad Back that keeps him from laying down for more than an hour at a time.  He needs Surgery, but the Doctors won’t do it, because they doubt he could survive the Anesthesia.  Yet if he doesn’t have the Surgery, it’s just a matter of time.

In other words, he’s between a Rock and a Hard Place.

So my friends, my Job is to help out my Mother as much as I can, but they live two hours away from me.  The good news is that one of my Sisters is living there, and my other sister is only an Hour away, and she’s got two Sons to help out with the Yard Work, etc.  But I’ll be heading down over the next few weeks and help with House Clearing of my Dad’s Tools, Winterize the House, Yadayadayada.  And hopefully, by that time, he’ll be out of the Rehab Center, and maybe he’ll be able to recognize me.  Or not.  Either way, it just sucks.  Those of you who are dealing with or have dealt with an Ailing Parent know what I mean.

So those of you out there who might be planning on a get together this Fall, unless it’s up in Northern Ohio, I can’t play.  Hopefully, things will be resolved by the time of the NRA Annual Meetings in Louisville, Kentucky, and I hope to see you all there.

Oh, BTW, word of Advise:  Do NOT have a New Roof installed during a Major Crisis if you can avoid it.  Trust me, I know.  HOPEFULLY, I’ll be able to talk to you all sooner rather than later.  Take Care, Bubblehead Les Out.

P.S. :  If haven’t heard by now, “Farmer” Frank James passed away a couple of days ago.  I’m assuming it was from the effects of the Stroke he had awhile back.  All I know is this:  He was a Hell of a Gun Writer, a STRONG Supporter of the RKBA, a Gentleman of the Old School, and he always treated his Commenters to his Blog with Respect.  Michael Bane, Tam, Bobbie X and John R. have more about him on there Blogs.  Check them out.

And may God Bless Frank James’s Family and Friends.

8 thoughts on “Stroke.

  1. ProudHillbilly

    So sorry to hear this and yes, these situations suck. Been there, done that, didn’t want the t-shirt. Will keep you all in my prayers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

