Time to Retire.

Hello!  Well, my Friends, after some long thought and study, I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s time for a Retirement.  It’s been over a year now, and frankly, I just don’t have the time and money that is necessary to support it.  So let’s just call a Spade a Spade and admit that it’s run its course and needs to be put out to pasture.

Frankly, I’ll miss it, but with the cost of Ammo that is needed to support it and the…what’s that?  Oh, you think I’m talking about the BLOG!  Oh, no,no,no!  No, the Blog is staying up.  It’s just that there are some SERIOUS FAMILY HEALTH ISSUES going on, and when one has to spend time at the Hospitals, well, there are only 24 hours in a day.  But (Crossed Fingers!), things should be settling down soon on THAT Front.

No, I’m talking about the Retirement of my Summer Carry Pistol, my Taurus .38 Snubbie.  Now, to be honest, if “Events” in Modern American Society haven’t been turning…”Tense” lately, I’d still be carrying it as my EDC Gun.  But just looking at the news at how a “Certain Protected Political Class” has decided to make EVERYTHING Police do in their daily job a “RACIST ACT AGAINST BLACKS!”, and I happen to live about 25 miles from Downtown Cleveland, and a MAJOR “Ghetto” is about 20 minutes drive from my House, and since I do have to go to Cleveland sometimes, well, 5 shots of .38+P just doesn’t seem…”enough”, so I decided to Upgrade my Summer EDC Pistol.

So what did I get?  Well, my Criteria is that it has to be Cheap Enough to meet Heath’s Law (“Never carry anything that you can’t afford to leave in a Police Evidence Room.”), Carry enough  of a Good Caliber that I don’t sweat not having enough Ammo, Cheap enough to PRACTICE with that Ammo, and enough Reliability that I don’t have to worry about it Crapping Out on me (KEL-TEC!).  

So, having figured out a Legal way to get the money w/o pissing off THE Wife, I did some shopping, and one of the local gun stores around me had a Sale going on Taurus’ PT111s.  I went and checked it out on line, watched a lot of YouTubes about it, and went to the Store.  NIB, with Two 12 round mags AND Tax, it came to…$237.65!  And since I did it on a Weekday, it took about 20 minutes, including the NICS Check, from when I walked in the door to when I walked out with it.  And 250 rounds of Ball for $51 extra.  No Waiting Period at All!

You get to have that kind of RKBA ability in a Free State.

So I went to the range, ran a box of 50 9mm 115grain Ball, and it seems to function well enough.  Granted, I need to put a few hundred more rounds through it, but so far so good.  And since it’s a Gen 2 “Copy/Sorta/Kinda” of a Baby Glock, but with a Larger Grip for my 2XL Hands, it fits ME very well, and well, we know how well the Glock System works.  But I don’t mind it’s Differences at all, like its “Second Strike Capability,”  and it’s 1911-type Thumb Safety actually is a Comfort to me.  Recall that I carried a 1911 on and off for a Decade while in the Navy.

As for the Snubbie, well, once I finish breaking in the PT111, it’ll stay at home, probably as a “Stash Gun,”  (we don’t have Kids in the Home, so I don’t mind having Weapons placed in “Strategic Locations” around the House).  But something tells me that if/when THE Wife ever gets her CHP, it’ll probably end up as her “Purse Gun.”

But to be Honest with you all, when .38 Special in a Quality Load is pushing 60 cents a round, and I can get 9mm for 30 cents, well, Pragmatism tells me that if one can get the Job done for 50% cheaper, that leaves more money for Ammo, Range Fees, Accessories, and the Next Gun, which will probably be an AR.  But since my Nephew isn’t in a Hurry to take His AR back yet, I’m good for now.

And as for the Blog, well, I’ll try to get some more Posts up soon.  Trust me, I have a Series about the Political Shenanigans that is driving the current “Tenseness” in the Republic.  Just a Hint:  You gotta love it when the ENEMY puts its Strategy On-Line, then tries to deny that they ever said such a thing.  But it’s a little Complicated, so bear with me.

Oh, and just my Two Cents regarding the Charleston Church Massacre:

YOU STOOOPID IGNORANT PIECE OF WHITE TRASH!  I HOPE TO GOD THAT YOUR SKINNY ASS GETS SHUT UP FOR A LOOOOONG TIME WITH ALL THE BROTHERS IN THE SOUTH CAROLINA PENAL SYSTEM, AND THEY HAVE A FIELD DAY ON YOUR BUTT, YOU WORTHLESS SCUMBAG!  I HOPE TO GOD THAT YOU DON’T END UP IN THE FEDERAL PEN, BECAUSE THOSE LIBERAL ASSHOLES REFUSE TO CARRY OUT THE DEATH PENALTY WHICH YOU SO RICHLY DESERVE!  YOU’RE SUCH A BRAVE GUY, WHY DIDN’T YOU TAKE ON A BUNCH OF GANGBANGERS INSTEAD OF A GROUP OF OLD CHRISTIANS HAVING BIBLE STUDY!?  THANKS FOR GIVING A HUUUUGE LOAD OF AMMO TO THE ANTI-GUNNERS AND THE RACIST BLACK MINORITY LIKE THE BLACK PANTHERS, AL SHARPTON AND BARACK OBAMA!  I JUST HOPE TO GOD YOU HAVEN’T BRED AND CONTAMINATED THE GENE POOL!  ALL YOU PUNKS WHO THINK SHOOTING UP SCHOOLS, CHURCHES, AND MOVIES THEATERS NEED TO TAKE YOUR PUNK ASSES OVER TO THE MIDDLE EAST AND TAKE ON SOME REAL THUGS LIKE ISIS IF YOU WANT TO PROVE HOW BAD YOU ARE!  QUIT FUCKING THINGS UP FOR ALL OF US GOOD GUN OWNERS!  MAY YOU ALL ROT IN HELL!

There, got that off my chest.  We’ll talk soon.  Bubblehead Les Out.

4 thoughts on “Time to Retire.

  1. Murphy's Law

    Glad to see that you’re not looking to put the blog down…because then I’d have to put up a post to tell you what you ain’t got. 🙂

    As to the Taurus…well enjoy the heck out of it and be sure to bring it the next time you come down for a shoot.

    Reply
    1. Glenn B

      Are you coming to the 8th Annual NE Bloggershoot? You would have good opportunity to put at least a few hundred rounds through it there but I would highly recommend getting at least two more mags for it. Hope to see you there!

      Reply
      1. bubbleheadles Post author

        Probably not this year, too many Family Obligations. But the Taurus came with Two, and I just picked up Four more, so I’m good for now.

Leave a Reply

